Home | Previous Magazines | Reader's Comments | Contact Us | Sponsors | Events| Advertise

Back to August 2009 Article list


Brian Mitchell inducted into the World and International Boxing Hall of Fame - by Jeff Ellis

During his illustrious career, Brian Mitchell South Africa’s undefeated World Champion has been the recipitant of no less than six “State President Sportman of the Year” awards.

Mitchell won the South African “Boxer of the Year” trophy on five occasions.

Another International award presented to him by the British Boxing Board who voted him the “Best Foreign Boxer” of 1988. He also received “Holiday Inn Sports
Star of the Year” on three occasions and the “Rand Sports writers Society Sportsman of the Year” three years in succession.

In 1988 he was named both the “Smirnoff/Top Star Sports Star of the Year” and the “Yardley Sports Star of the Year” Brian Mitchell also received the “Germiston Super Sports Star of the Year” (1986).

He was also awarded a honorary Springbok Boxing Blazer as a professional. Other
awards included a honorary carved medal from the South African Boxing Board of

Moreover there was an entertainment award named in his honour at the Johannesburg hospital, and after defending his WBA World Junior Lightweight title 8 times Brian received the Edward Jofre honorary World Title Belt.

Bouwer is SA’ best amateur - by Ron Jackson

Gauteng lightweight Allen Bouwer from the Kempton Park ABC won the award for
the best boxer at the SA senior amateur championships in Bloemfontein last weekend.

The tournament produced outstanding boxing, including a fight that ended with a
score of 32-31 and Kit Markotter, chairman of the Gauteng Amateur Boxing Organisation, says it was one of the best championships he has attended in recent years. Some of the boxing was of an exceptionally high standard, Markotter said after the tournament, which is now known as the SA Elite championships.

Held at the Tempe Indoor Sport Centre, the action consisted of 89 bouts between
July 8 and 11.

The trophy for the best team was once again won by Gauteng, who took five gold
medals. Runners up were the Eastern Cape, with three gold medals.

Limpopo was third with two. The Western Cape and KZN-Natal claimed one gold medal each.

Marcus Lebogo, from Gauteng, and Tinyiko Baloyi, from Limpopo, were involved
in one of the most closely contested bouts in recent years. Lebogo took the light-welterweight gold medal with a 32-31 decision.

In possibly the highest score in a bout since the introduction of the electronic scoring system, Walter Dlamini of Gauteng beat Sipho Machet from Limpopo by 73-18.


Strawweight (46 kg): Siyabonga Siya (EC) beat Tiyani Nghonyama (Lim) 29-25.
Light-flyweight (48 kg): Lebogana Pilane (Gau) beat Richard Bostander (NW) 31-10.
Flyweight (51kg): Tankiso Makhetha (Gau) beat Athenkosi Dumezweni (EC) 31-8.
Bantamweight (54 kg): Senzo Sibiya (KZN) beat Thulani Mbenge (EC) 30-23.
Featherweight (57 kg): Papish Baloyi (Lim) beat Sandile Hlatshwayo (KZN) 18-8.
Lightweight (60 kg): Allen Bouwer (Gau) beat Xolani Mcotheli (EC) 26-15.
Light-welterweight (64 kg): Marcus Lebogo (Gau) beat Tinyiko Baloyi 32-31.
Welterweight (69 kg): Simphiwe Lusizi (EC) beat Amukelani Baloyi (Lim) retired 2.
Middleweight (75 kg): Walter Dlamini (Gau) beat Sipho Machete (Lim) 73-18.
Light (81 kg): Lusindiso Joka (EC), walkover.
Heavyweight (91 kg): Mosana Monganyi (Lim) beat Tshilidzi Mulaudzi (Lim), ko1.
Super heavyweight (+ 91 kg): Rowan Julius (WC) beat Jaco Breedt (NW) RSC 3.